7 must haves for trips with Infants & Toddlers in tow!

As my fiancé & I are 30 and 28 years old respectively, many of our friends have 0-1 children. To them, we are a case study on survival. There should really be a class for parents on how to best handle the outside world with their babies/toddlers/children. I would have preferred this class over that breathing technique class I took. Who really remembers all of that in the midst of child birth anyway?? I won’t go into a full lesson plan, but here are 7 things I can’t live without when heading out of the house with my kiddos:

1. Smoothie Squeezies & other easy to feed snacks

Snacks are key to survival. I find as long as toddlers have something to chew on, they are happy campers. These squeezies (Ella’s Organics) are great for missed sit down meal times, in the cart or in the stroller. I even use them at restaurants so that they can squeeze while I eat my own food.

2. Toy Links

Great for infants & young Toddlers who LOVE throwing stuff on the ground. These Toy Links can hold teethers, pacifiers and other toys to the stroller or high chair in a restaurant.

;

;

;

3. Hand/Face Wipes

Must have for wiping cart handles, restaurant high chairs & tables and messy faces and hands. I’ve even used them in place of traditional diaper wipes when I needed extra space in the diaper bag. I usually buy them in four packs because I go through them so quickly: Johnson’s Hand & Face Portable Wipes 100 count Alcohol Free 4 Pack

;

;

4. Double Umbrella Stroller

In my opinion, the smaller the stroller, the better. While these umbrella strollers aren’t great for naps, they are better for manuevering in tight places. We use something similar to this: Jeep Wrangler Twin Sport All-Weather Stroller, Heat

;

;

;

;

5. iPad, LeapFrog pad or other activity devices

This one should be used at the right place at the right time. You want your child to be stimulated by the outside world rather than staring at a screen. However, there are sometimes where this is useful. For example – waiting in a long line. Or, right around nap time when the tantrums about to kick in. I try to download puzzle apps or interactive books rather than just letting them watch movies. This device will be on our Xmas shopping list for our daughter: LeapFrog LeapPad1 Explorer (pink)

6. Single Serve Formula Packets

This makes it so easy to mix formula on the go. You don’t need to deal with scoops or trying to pre-mix bottle before you leave the house. I use Similac (Similac Advance Powder Sticks – 16ct) but I Enfamil has a similar product (Enfamil Premium Infant Single-Serve Powder Packets, 9.92- Ounce Box).

7. Breastfeeding Cover Up

These allow you to breastfeed in public without baring it all. I prefer something unobtrusive and plain to attract less attention: Jolly Jumper Pashmama Nursing Cover – Black.

What are your must haves?

About supermama3

I am a working Mom of three beautiful children! They give me a run for my money and bring joy and perspective to my life. I work part time as a Software Engineer. Life is crazy, but we make time for fun & laughter.
This entry was posted in Tips & Tricks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

