Childcare Options: Pros & Cons

As a working mom of three, I’ve experimented with many different childcare situations.  Nannies, friends, family & daycare… some days I come home from work smiling and other days… well, it’s quite the opposite.  Here is my take on what I’ve experienced:

The Nanny

We had one Nanny that was fantastic with my daughter, but ended up stealing from us. The other Nanny we had was great with the twins, but was expensive!  There was always a battle of money vs. what chores are included.  The great thing about a Nanny is that you know your child is at home safe.

Pros

  • It’s much easier to set rules and expectations than with family and friends for the children, chores and otherwise.
  • Not having to drop your child off somewhere in the morning is a real time saver.
  • One on one (depending on how many children you have) attention vs. a daycare situation.

Cons

  • They have no previous tie to your children and therefore may not be as attached and have their best interest in mind.
  • You basically have a stranger in your house with your most treasured possessions (your kids, not your shoes, LOL).
  • $$$$ – in home Nanny’s are expensive, especially if you want them to do extra chores and cooking.
  • Children lose out on social experiences that they may get from being in a group daycare setting.

Friends & Family

We currently have friends & family watching all of our kids during the day.  One of them is my younger sister and it’s awesome because she’s the person who is most like me in the world.  I feel great knowing that I completely trust every single one to take care of my children, but at the same time it’s difficult to say something when I see something I don’t like.  It’s my fault for not being assertive, but when it comes to friendships and family members I find it hard to do that constructive criticism.

Pros

  • They already know and love your children, so you trust that they will be getting a lot of TLC.
  • The same as the Nanny: one on one attention & they get to stay in their home or at least in a home environment

Cons

  • For me, it’s always difficult to ask a friend or a family member to do extra chores or set expectations on how to parent my children while I’m not around.
  • Money Saver: I pay friends & family still, but generally less than I would a Nanny.

Day Care

I put my daughter in a preschool/daycare environment when she was 2 years old.  The first care facility was HORRIBLE.  They were a business and not a loving environment.  She is at a different school now and doing really, really well. Personally, if you can find the right school and the child is old enough, this really is the best bet for their development.

Pros

  • Children develop social skills and experience peer learning.
  • Structured environment which is great for young children.
  • Opportunity for a classroom environment & lessons in everything from math to music (depending on the school).

Cons

  • Breeding ground for illness. (My daughter is sick at least once a month!)
  • Getting a young child up, dressed and out the door is tough!
  • Nothing gets done in the house as far as chores, etc… (compared to a Nanny)
  • Less one on one time for your child.
  • No piece of mind knowing your child is safe at home.

The one big con of all of these things is… none of them are Mom!  Maybe one day. =D

About supermama3

I am a working Mom of three beautiful children! They give me a run for my money and bring joy and perspective to my life. I work part time as a Software Engineer. Life is crazy, but we make time for fun & laughter.
This entry was posted in Tips & Tricks, Working Mom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

