Battling the Terrible Two’s: Part 2 – Take Action

Today I had Olivia pick her “spot.” (For reference see my Previous Post.) She named it “Olivia’s place” and she put a teddy bear there. We had our first opportunity shortly after. When she started to throw a tantrum because I wouldn’t let her eat Halloween candy for dinner – I told her to go to her place until she felt better and we would hug and talk after. It worked!!! She easily obliged, sat, squeezed her bear and came back. I told her she had to eat dinner before candy and she was fine!

Now here is the kicker – the next time she started to throw a tantrum, she stopped and said, “I need to feel better.” She went and sat down on the ottoman (excuse me: Olivia’s place) BY HERSELF. Tantrum done! It could be the novelty of it but I’m hoping we are on to something here.

The only issue I’m seeing is for problems where she’s just ignoring me or being a generally obnoxious toddler. If she’s running around like a maniac and won’t let me put her clothes on for bed – it’s pretty hard to ask her to go sit and “feel better.” I’m sure she felt pretty good jumping around like a monkey while I struggled to get her PJ pants on. It’s cute for a minute (or less). Threatening her Cinderella blu-ray did the trick for that. I should keep reading the book!! I’m sure there are more answers.

I’m also thinking we have more than one place for her to have her positive time out. We have a two story and with the twins, we aren’t really agile as a group when it comes to moving around the house. I’m tempted to install one of those chair lifts like on the movie “Up.” 🙂

My other angle in this effort is a rewards chart. Now, I’m not confident that she’s old enough to understand but fingers crossed this will help target certain behaviors. We are starting with “sharing”, “saying please and thank you”, “trying not to whine”, and “falling asleep by myself.” She chose “Going out for a treat.” as her reward.

Here it is on out wall:

20121101-213138.jpg

If you are interested in this chart I got it here:
My Responsibility Reward Chart Wall Hanging

It’s a little pricier than others but it’s really good quality and I liked that you could customize some of the behaviors and rewards.

Anyway, let us see how Ms. Olivia progresses. I want more fun days with laughter and less days of me correcting her constantly. 🙂

About supermama3

I am a working Mom of three beautiful children! They give me a run for my money and bring joy and perspective to my life. I work part time as a Software Engineer. Life is crazy, but we make time for fun & laughter.
This entry was posted in Toddlers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

