I’m a Cheating Mom: My Mommy Shortcuts

Before anyone freaks out and calls my fiancé – no I am not cheating on him.  I am a “cheating” Mom because I take shortcuts to make being a Mom easier.  Sometimes they aren’t the best for the kids, but with three young ones… you have to take the easy way out and not feel too guilty about it.

1. I heat up frozen foods. I so wish I was one of those Mom’s that did meal planning at the beginning of every week.  I do some weeks.. other weeks, I get home from work to three hungry kids with no plan.  Frozen veggies, frozen meatballs, chicken nuggets… I could go on.  I use them to whip up a quick meal.  I do my best to pick the most naturally created foods and pair them with wheat pasta or fresh fruit, but in the end, frozen is never as good as fresh or from scratch.  It is what it is.

2. I use hand sanitizer.  This may not seem bad, but I feel guilty about it.  I’m teaching my Toddler to use hand sanitizer vs. actually stopping to wash her hands with soap and water.  The problem is, I’ve got two twin boys bulldozing through the house; the time without supervision has to be minimal.  Olivia still needs my help to go potty and so this is the shortcut I take to get back out in the battlefield faster.

3. I turn on the television. Everyone does it, no one likes to admit it.  I try to limit, but in the evenings when everyone is starting to lose it… I use the TV as a distraction to take a mental break before getting everyone to bed.  Yea, I said it!  I use the TV has a babysitter sometimes, so sue me!

4. I bribe. I have said in the past: Good parenting is well timed bribery.  I’m probably really wrong (hehe).  M&M’s are a big one for Olivia.  I use bribery quite often to get her to do what I need her to do.  As I mentioned before, time is of the essence when supervising 3 young kids.  If I can pop a few M&M’s in her mouth to get her to put away her toys or allow me to dress her without struggle, I’m going to do it.  This could turn out very poorly for me in the long run, but very good for those guys that put that melt in your mouth not in your hand stuff on the shelves.

5. I do not replace batteries. When a really annoying toy goes silent because the batteries have died, you are crazy if you think I’m going to turn it back on.  If it happens to be a “favorite,” then I’ll consider.  Otherwise, I’d prefer to keep my sanity and hand my kid a nice book or puzzle.  I really appreciate the toys with volume control!!!!

6. I skip pages in long books.  Especially now that Olivia is demanding to read by herself, I shorten the night time routine by skipping pages.  I have to be careful to skip the same pages every night, because my oh so observant 2 year old will catch me…

7. I hand over my iPhone: When absolutely necessary to avoid a meltdown, I will give Olivia my iPhone in public.  She usually heads to YouTube for some Mickey Mouse.  I don’t do it a lot, but I know some parents shake their heads when they see a kid staring at a device in public when they should be experiencing life.  I just smile and keep walking. =)

As long as my kid’s are happy, healthy and well-adjusted… I’ll keep cheating where I need to.

What are your “easy way outs” in Mommy-hood?

About supermama3

I am a working Mom of three beautiful children! They give me a run for my money and bring joy and perspective to my life. I work part time as a Software Engineer. Life is crazy, but we make time for fun & laughter.
This entry was posted in Tips & Tricks, Working Mom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m a Cheating Mom: My Mommy Shortcuts

  1. Anette says:

    I often try to balance my children by giving my toddler the iPad to ‘read’ from the Story bots app. Makes a world of difference when preparing dinner, bottles, cleaning, etc.

Leave a Reply

